Best powder quality for baby food

DMK Baby is regarded as a reliable partner for high-quality baby food, and with its Humana brand, the company has been one of the leading international manufacturers for many years. In recent years, DMK Baby has continued to expand and modernize the plant at the Strückhausen site. Investments totaling 145 million euros in recent years have transformed the plant into one of the world’s most modern baby food factories. With state-of-the-art technology, efficient processes and equipment, the plant can process baby food in the best powder quality.

Since the start-up of the new plant, powdered baby food for the German and international market has been produced there in compliance with the highest quality and safety standards. For the production of the baby food, only milk from mostly local producers, from GMO-free production, is used.

Concept development, project management and project control of the entire plant were carried out under the direction of the engineering office KSI from Krefeld. The entire bulk solids systems were realized by the company Derichs GmbH Verfahrenstechnik from Übach-Palenberg. In detail, this includes all dosing and mixing equipment for powdery products as well as the plant components for filling and emptying of big bags and sacks for a product-friendly, internal transport of the semi-finished products.

Highest precision and safety

The production of powdered infant nutrition is an extremely complex and elaborate process. For the health of infants, it is absolutely essential that the required ingredients are contained in the baby food in exactly the right quantities. Of course, it must be ensured that the food is not contaminated microbiologically or with other foreign bodies during the entire production process. This is ensured by the high hygiene requirements of the production plant.

After milk reception and treatment of raw milk, the production process consists of several main processes:

First, a liquid mixture of milk and various other base materials, such as lactose and protein, is produced. The base substances are delivered in powder form in big bags and sacks. The substances are then dosed according to the recipe and dissolved in milk in a high-shear mixer.

After the first process step, most of the water contained in the liquid mixture is removed in an evaporator to be dried in a spray dryer into a free-flowing and easily soluble agglomerated powder.

In the final process step, the infant formula is canned. Before filling, the spray-dried powder is mixed with other vital ingredients, such as vitamins and minerals. Due to their particular temperature sensitivity, these ingredients can only be added after the spray-drying process.

High-precision metering systems are installed throughout the production process for the gram-accurate metering of all large, medium and micro-components. Downstream mixing systems use sophisticated technology to ensure absolutely homogeneous mixing of all products.

All powdered raw materials and semi-finished products are sieved after being emptied from big bags and small containers in order to detect and sort out foreign bodies at an early stage. In addition, rotating permanent magnets and active metal detectors are located at all points in the production process to detect the smallest metal parts or particles.

The systems implemented by Derichs comply with the latest hygiene standards (EHEDG, GMP, IFS, EC 1935/2004) in order to ensure the flawless microbiology of the end products.

Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby
Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby
Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby
Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby

Project Services

Engineering
Production
Erection & Service
Automation

Beste Pulverqualität für Babynahrung

DMK Baby gilt als zuverlässiger Partner für hochwertige Babynahrung und mit der Marke Humana zählt das Unternehmen seit vielen Jahren zu den führenden internationalen Herstellern. In den letzten Jahren hat die DMK Baby das Werk am Standort Strückhausen immer weiter ausgebaut und modernisiert. Investitionen in Höhe von 145 Million Euro in den letzten Jahren haben das Werk zu einem der weltweit modernsten Werke für Babynahrung gewandelt. Mit modernster Technik, effizienten Prozesse und Anlagen kann das Werk Babynahrung in bester Pulverqualität verarbeiten.

Seit der Inbetriebnahme des neuen Werks, wird dort unter Einhaltung höchster Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsstandards pulverförmige Säuglingsnahrung für den deutschen und internationalen Markt hergestellt. Für die Herstellung der Babynahrung wird ausschließlich Milch von meist lokalen Erzeugern, aus gentechnikfreien Produktion verwendet.

Konzeptentwicklung, Projektmanagement und Projektsteuerung der Gesamtanlage erfolgte unter der Leitung des Ingenieurbüro KSI aus Krefeld. Die gesamten Schüttgutanlagen wurden von der Firma Derichs GmbH Verfahrenstechnik aus Übach-Palenberg realisiert. Im Detail sind das alle Dosier- und Mischanlagen für pulverförmige Produkte sowie die Anlagenteile zur Befüllung Entleerung von Big-Bags und Säcken für einen produktschonenden, internen Transport der Halbfabrikate.

Höchste Präzision und Sicherheit

Die Herstellung der pulverförmigen Säuglingsnahrung ist ein äußerst komplexer und aufwendiger Prozess. Für die Gesundheit der Säuglinge ist es unbedingt notwendig, dass die erforderlichen Inhaltsstoffe in exakt der richtigen Menge in der Babynahrung enthalten sind. Selbstverständlich muss sichergestellt werden, dass die Nahrung während des gesamten Produktionsprozess nicht mikrobiologisch oder mit anderen Fremdkörpern belastet wird. Dies wird durch die hohen Hygieneanforderungen der Produktionsanlage sichergestellt.

Nach der Milchannahme und der Behandlung der Rohmilch, besteht der Produktionsvorgang aus mehreren Hauptprozessen:

Zuerst wird eine flüssige Mischung aus Milch und diversen anderen Basisstoffen, wie z. B. Laktose und Eiweiß, hergestellt. Die Basisstoffe werden pulverförmig in Big-Bags und Säcken angeliefert. Anschließend werden die Stoffe rezeptabhängig dosiert und in einem High-Shear-Mixer in Milch aufgelöst.

Nach dem ersten Prozessschritt wird der Flüssigmischung in einem Eindampfer ein Großteil des enthaltenen Wassers entzogen, um in einem Sprühtrockner zu einem rieselfähigen und gut lösbaren, agglomerierten Pulver getrocknet zu werden.

Im letzten Prozessschritt wird die Säuglingsnahrung in Dosen abgefüllt. Vor der Abfüllung wird das sprühgetrocknete Pulver mit weiteren lebenswichtigen Inhaltsstoffen, wie z. B. Vitaminen und Mineralien, gemischt. Diese Inhaltsstoffe können aufgrund ihrer besonderen Temperaturempfindlichkeit erst nach dem Sprühtrocknungsprozess zugeführt werden.

Im gesamten Produktionsprozess werden hochgenaue Dosieranlagen zur grammgenauen Dosierung aller Groß-, Mittel-, und Mikrokomponenten installiert. Nachgeschaltete Mischsysteme sorgen mit ausgereifter Technologie für eine absolut homogene Mischung aller Produkte.

Alle pulverförmigen Rohstoffe und Halbfabrikate werden nach ihrem Entleeren aus Big-Bags und Kleingebinden gesiebt, um Fremdkörper frühzeitig zu erkennen und auszusortieren. Zusätzlich befinden sich an sämtlichen Stellen im Produktionsprozess rotierende Permanentmagnete und aktive Metallsuchdetektoren, um kleinste Metallteile bzw. –partikel zu erkennen.

Die von Derichs realisierten Anlagen entsprechen den neusten Hygienestandrads (EHEDG, GMP, IFS, EG 1935/2004), um eine einwandfreie Mikrobiologe der Endprodukte sicherzustellen.

Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby
Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby
Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby
Referenzanlage_DMK_Baby

Leistungen zum Projekt

Engineering
Fertigung
Montage & Service
Automatisierung